Ecco i brani in cui è citato Bruce Springsteen!


Un recente articolo pubblicato su Njarts.net, intitolato Singing ABOUT Springsteen: 20 songs where he’s in the lyrics,  l’autore Jay Lustig riportava una lunga lista di brani in cui viene per l’appunto citato Bruce Springsteen. Abbiamo letto con curiosità e interesse da fans ma ci siamo messi subito alla ricerca e ne abbiamo scoperti tanti altri. Tra tutti, il più noto è probabilmente quello che Eric Church nel 2012  intitolò proprio Springsteen e che scalò con successo le classifiche americane  ottenendo addirittura due nominations ai Grammy Award in quello stesso anno.  Brani esplicitamente dedicati al boss sono anche Springsteen di Willie Mack del suo album The Journey del 2009, e Hey Bruce!  del nostro Lorenzo Bertocchini & Apple Pirates, una lettera immaginaria che ha “inviato” al suo idolo attraverso l’album tributo Hearts Of Stone del 2009 (di questi ultimi due brani non esistono tuttavia video).  In alcune canzoni si nomina direttamente il Boss, come in My Life Is Good di Randy Newman o in Talkin’ Woody, Bob, Bruce & Dan Blues di Dan Bern. In altre, c’è un riferimento alla sua musica (come in Grey Cortina di Tom Robinson o in Listen to the Eight Track di Ian Hunter) o a sue precise canzoni. In altre ancora, Springsteen viene citato come simbolo degli ideali americani, ad esempio in It’s America” di Rodney Atkins, o come l’espressione migliore del cantautorato americano, ad esempio in Kid Inside di John Mellencamp.  E c’è anche chi lo cita scherzosamente come Rick Springfield nella sua Bruce (in cui allude a chi lo confonde con il suo idolo rock), o chi fa riferimento al suo look come Lady Antebellum in Stars Tonight.  Ecco dunque i brani con i relativi video e citazioni al Boss… ma siamo pronti ad accogliere tutti i vostri suggerimenti per incrementare ulteriormente questa lunga lista.

Springsteen [Eric Church]

“Funny how a melody sounds like a memory/Like the soundtrack to a July Saturday night, Springsteen”

Cars and Girls  [Prefab Sprout]

 “Brucie dreams life’s a highway, too many roads bypass my way… But look at us now, quit driving, some things hurt more, much more than cars and girls.”

 

Forty [John Eddie]

“I guess I’m Fuckin Forty/Well that’s what my Momma said/But Bruce Springsteen’s Fuckin 53/ And the Stones are almost dead”

 

Talkin’ Woody, Bob, Bruce & Dan Blues  [Dan Bern]

“When Woody Guthrie was sick and dying/Bob Dylan visited him as he was lying/In a hospital bed Bob sang him songs/Woody smiled and said, ‘I’m glad you come, you belong here, go forth and be the voice of your generation’/Well, above Beverly Hills one night real late/I snuck past a security gate … Climbed up a barbed wire fence and over … To the home of Bruce Springsteen … I asked him could he think of us as Bob and Woody.”

 

Our World Now [Bleu Edmondson]

“I got a tape of a rock and roll band/An American band from the Jersey shore/Singin’ no retreat baby, no surrender/[…]/It’s the scream of the wheels of my daddy’s car/ Singin’ no retreat, no surrender/[…]/By the Mexico line/Singin’ oh, oh I’m on fire/[…]/Rollin’ up 87 as fast as we can/ The Detroit V-8 is gonna take us to the promised land”

 

 My Life Is Good  [Randy Newman]

“My wife and I/Went to this hotel in the hills/That’s right/The Bel-Air Hotel/Where a very good friend of ours/Happens to be staying/And the name of this young man/Is Mr. Bruce Springsteen/That’s right, yeah/Oh, we talked about some kind of/Woodblock or something/And this new guitar we like/And you know what he said to me/I’ll tell you what he said to me/He said, “Rand, I’m tired/How would you like to be the Boss for awhile?”/Well, yeah/Blow, Big Man, blow…”

Talking New Bob Dylan  [Loudon Wainwright III] 

“I got a deal and so did John Prine/Steve Forbert and Springsteen, all in a line/They were lookin’ for you, signin’ up others/We were new Bob Dylans, your dumbass kid brothers … we still get together every week at Bruce’s house.”

Bruce [Rick Springfield]

“As he pulled a piece paper for me to sign from his vest/He said, ‘I thought “Born to Run” was one of your best’/’Aw, wait a minute, man, who do you think I am?’/He answered, ‘Mr. Springsteen, you’re a famous man.’ ”

Kid Inside  [John Cougar (Mellencamp)]

“It’s getting hard to justify my position/When everything I’m sayin’ can be said better by Mr. Springsteen.”

It’s America  [Rodney Atkins]

“It’s a high school prom, it’s a Springsteen song, it’s a ride in a Chevrolet/It’s a man on the moon and fireflies in June and kids sellin’ lemonade/It’s cities and farms, it’s open arms, one nation under God/It’s America.”

The Indifference of Heaven  [Warren Zevon]

“They say, ‘Everything’s all right’/They say, ‘Better days are near’/They tell us These are the good times/But they don’t live around here/Billy and Christie don’t/Bruce and Patti don’t/They don’t live around here.”

 

1985  [Bowling for Soup]

“Since Bruce Springsteen, Madonna, way before Nirvana/There was U2 and Blondie, and music still on MTV/Her two kids in high school, they tell her that she’s uncool/’Cause she’s still preoccupied with 1985.”

22  [Deaf Havana]

“I’m somewhere between happy and okay/With Springsteen in my headphones singing mockingly away/Oh, Brucie, baby, I’ve seen better days.”

The Battle of Hampton Roads  [Titus Andronicus]

“I’ve destroyed everything that wouldn’t make me more like Bruce Springsteen/So I’m going back to New Jersey, I do believe they’ve had enough of me.”

Listen to the Eight Track [Ian Hunter]

“Sometimes I get a woman in here/And I put on Bruce Springsteen’s new double album/And then, just when everything’s getting hot/I start turning the volume right down low/Baby, let me snuggle right next to you.”

Grey Cortina  [Tom Robinson]

“Fur-lined seats and lettered windscreen/Elbow on the windowsill/Eight track blazing Brucie Springsteen/Bomber jacket, dressed to kill.”

The Ring [The Hangdogs]

“And hey, while you’re looking, maybe you could have a glance/At this Springsteen bootleg circa 84/Was playing “Thunder Road” the night I rode out for the promised land/ Now I found her and I don’t need it no more”

Redemption [Frank Turner]

“I was walking home to my house through the snow from the station/When the Springsteen came clear in my headphones with a pertinent question/Oh, is love really real and can any of us hope for redemption?/Or are we all merely biding our time down to the lonely conclusions?”

Rock and Roll Call  [Joe D’Urso]

“Bruce is the Boss, Elvis is the King, Ol’ Blue Eyes, he’s the Chairman of the Board, and Dylan’s the Muse, he’s always the muse.”

Saturday Night [The Felice Brothers]

“I ain’t the Boss but I’m his illegitimate son/’Cause baby, I was born to run.”

Heart Songs [Weezer]

“Mr Springsteen said he had a hungry heart”

Sound of a Million Dreams  [David Nail]

“My 18th summer I was a cocky up-and-comer/Crankin’ up ‘Born to Run’ ”

Stars Tonight  [Lady Antebellum]

“Girls in their heels and a skinny pair of blue jeans/Boys in black pearl buttons looking just like Springsteen.”

Hard Core Troubadour  [Steve Earle]

“Hey Rosalita, won’t you come out tonight”

Wish I Was Bruce Springsteen   [Jay Leighton]

“And I wish I was Springsteen/or maybe … unforever wait for the star”

Bruce Springsteen  [Ezio]

“She must be cool because she likes Bruce Springsteen.”

Via Miami  [Gillan Glover]

“I’d even get a ticket for a Springsteen show”

My seaside brown eyed girl  [Steve Forbert]

“You’re not here with me/You’re in Springsteen land/Summer waves and sand”

Meet me by the River’s Edge  [Gaslight Anthem]

“No surrender, my Bobby Jean/And we’ve been burned by all our fears/Just from growin’ up around here/Our father’s factories marked our cards/While Eden burned against the stars/And Sally said, Sally said/Meet me by the river’s edge/We’re going to wash these sins away/ Or else we won’t come back again/ […] No retreat, no regrets …”

Frau, ich freu mich [Bap]
“Un die Kassett vum Springsteen ald zom zehnte Mohl erinnjedeut […],Und „Born to run“ von Springsteen läuft jetzt auch schon zum zehnten Mal”

 

 

Bruce Springsteen’s Nebraska [The Passionate and Objective Jokerfan]

Nebraska  [Cash Brothers]

“I’ll be sitting  here listening to Nebraska […]/I’m alone on this dark road listening to Nebraska”

All It Takes [Lori McKenna]

“Initials on a gold ring / Anything Bruce Springsteen / Magnet from Mardi Gras / Back roads of Arkansas / Tylenol an…”

Video non disponibile

Not available video

Just Like Springsteen  [Hannah Mahoney]

“He’s just like Springsteen”

Trying to Be The Boss (On A Beaver Brown Budget) [Drive by Truckers]

Il popolo rock [Tazenda]

“Il popolo, il popolo, il popolo rock ama il Boss, ama Vasco, ama Piero…”

Tweeter and the Monkey Man [The Traveling Wilburys]

“they hopped into a stolen car, took Highway 99/[…]to the Monkey Man from a mansion on the hill”

The Pride [Five Fingers Death Punch]

“Disneyland/White House/JFK/And Mickey Mouse/John Wayne/Springsteen/Eastwood/James Dean[…]”

Springsteen [Willie Mack]

Testo e video non disponibili
Not available lyrics and video

Hey Bruce [Lorenzo Bertocchini & Apple Pirates ]

Testo e video non disponibili
Not available lyrics and video

 

~ di pinkcadillacmusic su 31 luglio 2017.

4 Risposte to “Ecco i brani in cui è citato Bruce Springsteen!”

  1. Well I guess I’m Fuckin Forty
    Well I’m a petered out Peter Pan
    Well sometimes I feel foolish
    I make my living singing in this band
    I guess I’m Fuckin Forty
    Well that’s what my Momma said
    But Bruce Springsteen’s Fuckin 53
    And the Stones are almost dead.

    (John Eddie – Forty)

    Mi piace

  2. La canzone “The Ring” dall’album “East of Yesterday” (1998) degli The Hangdogs:

    “And hey, while you’re looking, maybe you could have a glance
    At this Springsteen bootleg circa 84
    Was playing “Thunder Road” the night I rode out for the promised land
    Now I found her and I don’t need it no more”

    *******************************

    La canzone “Our World Now” dall’album “Band Plays On (2008) di Bleu Edmondson:

    I got a tape of a rock and roll band
    An American band from the Jersey shore
    Singin’ no retreat baby, no surrender
    […]
    It’s the scream of the wheels of my daddy’s car
    Singin’ no retreat, no surrender
    […]
    By the Mexico line
    Singin’ oh, oh I’m on fire
    […]
    Rollin’ up 87 as fast as we can
    The Detroit V-8 is gonna take us to the promised land
    […]

    Mi piace

Rispondi

 
